2013 Counselors

2013 COUNSELORS

Andrew KrahnANDREW KRAHN, DIRECTOR OF STUDENTS

Andrew Krahn is a board certified music therapist currently living in Boston. His clients include infants and toddlers with developmental delays, and at-risk youth. He received his B.M. from Berklee College of Music in 2011, where he received instruction on saxophone, guitar, piano, and voice. In addition to his work as a music therapist, Andrew teaches music in a variety of capacities, and performs regularly up and down the East Coast. Though he grew up in Rhode Island, he spent his earliest years in Sitka, a connection that has kept him coming back as often as possible.

CampbellLongworthCAMPBELL LONGWORTH, HEAD COUNSELOR

Hello! My name is Campbell Longworth. Born and raised in Petersburg Alaska, I spent a lot of time traveling to other towns for music and sports related events. All through High School I was in cross country, jazz band, concert band and pep band. My last two years in HS I also picked up cheerleading and in my senior year I joined the choir. During High School, I had the opportunity to go on exchange to Ecuador. This was an amazing trip and opened my eyes to parts of the world I never knew existed. I now live in Fairbanks Alaska and study music education at the university there. My main instrument is trumpet but I have had experience on many different instruments and also have sung or otherwise performed in many local and university performances. I enjoy performing, both on stage and in the “pit.” During my stay at UAF I have sung in the operas, The Elixer of Love, and Don Giovanni, the musicals, High School Musical, The Music Man, and The wizard of Oz, and Have played trumpet in various shows as well, including, Two Gentleman of Verona and onstage in Don Giovanni. At UAF I currently play in the Wind Symphony, Jazz Band, Aurora Brass quintet, and Brass Choir. Most recently I traveled to and performed in Malaysia with the Borealis Brass. I’m looking forward to a fun summer getting to know everyone and working hard together!

TiffanyCreedTIFFANY CREED, HEAD COUNSELOR

My name is Tiffany and I’m the girls’ head counselor. I am originally from Kotzebue, Alaska but I went to high school in Sitka at Mt. Edgecumbe High School. I then studied film at Portland State University for four years, learning about history and theory while also engaging in the all aspects of the production process. I plan to continue filmmaking as a career, and just for fun. Some of my favorite things to do are to watch and discuss films, write poetry, make fresh juice, grow flowers, make people laugh, and ride the bus. I love Sitka very much and look forward to SFAC every year!

SophiaButlerSOPHIA BUTLER

Sophia just finished her sophomore year at St. Olaf College in Northfield, MN where she is studying music and anthropology. She enjoyed playing with Minnesota Youth Symphonies all through high school, and now plays with the St. Olaf Orchestra. While classical music has always been a fascination and inspiration to her, Sophia has also played in a Bluegrass band and an Irish folk band. When she isn’t practicing or studying, she enjoys knitting, running, and gardening.

ElsbethPoe.jpgELSBETH POE

Growing up in Davis California, Elsbeth caught a bad case of the theater bug at the age of seven. She attended high school at Natomas Charter School Performing and Fine Arts Academy and then received her Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theater Performance and a Minor in Shakespeare Studies from Southern Oregon University. Both in high school and while attending undergraduate school she focused mainly on performance but  has also always had  a passion for adapting stories for the stage and directing. Some of her directorial work includes her own adaptation of Lewis Carol’s Alice in Wonderland, Julia Cho’s The Language Archive, An all female cast of The Complete Works of William Shakespeare Abridged, and she was assistant director to Michael J. Hume in Southern Oregon University’s production of The Caucasian Chalk Circle. Elsbeth was lucky enough to be part of The Oregon Shakespeare Festival’s 2012 season as Celia(U/S) in As You Like It, Helen/Andromache/Prologue(U/S) in Troilus and Cressida, and Lady Montague/Apothecary in Romeo and Juliet. She is currently playing Hero and Don John in The Idaho Shakespeare Festivals’ Shakespearience tour of Much Ado About Nothing. Elsbeth is currently based out of Boise, Idaho and is thrilled to be able to spend her summer in beautiful Sitka working with nothing but creative, passionate artists of all ages.

AlexKramerALEX KRAMER

Alex Kramer is from the amazing Virginia town of Charlottesville where he grew up hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains and going to lots of outdoor folk and bluegrass concerts. He has graduated from Yale University with a degree in Theater Studies. He has been acting in plays his whole life, and has recently ventured into writing and directing. He looks forward to moving to New York City to start a theater and film company, and work as a professional actor. He also takes great pride in his grizzly facial hair.

ChrisBowmanCHRIS BOWMAN

I’m currently a sophomore at the University of Washington in Seattle. I attended Fine Arts Camp throughout middle and high school, focusing mainly on visual and digital arts (ceramics, video production, animation, photography) and I am very much looking forward to returning and helping to make camp great.

JakeTurnerJAKE TURNER

Jake Turner is from Sitka and has previously been a camper himself, but this is his first year as a counselor. He now studies Theater Arts at Portland State University and has been in productions such as The Servant of Two Masters, a Commedia-style farce, and Urinetown: the Musical, a musical parody of musicals. His favorite dinosaur is the styracosaurus ad he never knows what color his hair will be next.

Jeremy NealJEREMY NEAL

My name is Jeremy Neal and I have been going to SFAC for the past six to seven years. I go to Florida State University in Tallahassee, Florida and plan on majoring in Dance and Journalism next year. I just spent last year as a foreign exchange student in Heidenheim an der Brenz, Germany and learned German as well as so much about myself. I very much look forward to working with the camp and partaking in its huge assortment of arts classes. Can’t wait to see everyone there!

Jesse SchreckJESSE SCHRECK

Jesse Schreck is a junior at Yale majoring in American Studies. He’s in an improv group on campus, and in his free time he likes to write. Plays, mostly, but also essays, short fiction, and to-do lists. Though he’s a native New Yorker, he loves the outdoors and can’t wait to spend a month in Sitka, which he hears—from everyone he’s ever met—is the most beautiful place.

RaphShapiroRAPHAEL SHAPIRO

My name’s Raphael, and you can call me Raph if you’re part of my trusted inner circle, which pretty much everyone is except for Andrew Krahn. Fingers crossed, by the time you see me I will be a recent graduate from Yale. By the time you see me I’ll also originally be from Sag Harbor, New York, though that’s also true now. Theater and music are my main jams, though I’m all about any art you got and I’m very excited to get back to SFAC after a heartbreaking sabbatical last summer.

RILEY WHITSON

TaylorDowTAYLOR DOW

Taylor studies comics art at The Evergreen State College in Olympia, Washington. He really likes comics (duh) and art (duh) and SFAC (duh). He’s been spending the year working on a thirty-page comic project about time-travelling toilets, reading sci-fi, and playing board games. He grew up in Sitka, in the house that his parents still own. Last summer he was a counselor at the camp for the first time and it BLEW HIS MIND. He is stoked to be returning.

TommyBazarianTOMMY BAZARIAN

Tommy Bazarian hails from Portland, Maine, and is a currently a rising junior at Yale University where he majors in American Studies. His main interests include singing/songwriting, folk music, and acting. He is a member of Tangled Up in Blue (Yale’s undergraduate folk music singing group) as well as The Teaspoons, a smaller folk rock band. He has also appeared in numerous theatrical productions, including a show called Still Life, where he played a grape. Tommy’s hobbies include skiing and hiking, and each fall he leads groups of terrified Yale freshmen on outdoor orientation trips through the northeastern wilderness. His favorite kind of sandwich is chicken parmesan.

EMMA BARASH

KATE SPENCE

LaurenTronickLAUREN TRONICK

Lauren Tronick is from Los Angeles, California and is now a student at Yale University where she studies Anthropology and History of Science, Medicine and Public Health. She spends most of her time playing viola, singing folk music with friends, taking trips to beautiful places, and finding ways to play music in those beautiful places. In the fall, she plans to take a semester off to do research for global health, write and record songs, and learn how to do a cartwheel.

MargoRoseumMARGO ROSEUM

I am a student at Ohio Northern University double majoring in Marketing and Communications with a minor in Environmental Studies. I am from Willoughby Hills, Ohio (East of Cleveland). I played French Horn and Trumpet in High School and continue to sing in various groups. This is my second year as a counselor at SFAC! I am also excited to be working with the SFAC Marketing Team this year as well as being a counselor. My favorite part of camp is going to the student art shares to see what everyone has learned from such an amazing experience.

TARASCHMIDTTARA SCHMIDT

Tara Schmidt was born in Portland and raised in Nome, Alaska. After graduating high school, she moved to Spokane, WA to earn a BA in Broadcasting from Gonzaga University. Since she has moved back to Nome to work for a non-profit in the Tobacco Prevention and Education field. She is passionate art in its various media, but personal favorites are video, clay, and 35mm photography. She’s an avid runner, hiker, and thrives on new experiences. “I feel like a big kid going to the summer camp I never could!”

ZoeSorrellZOE SORRELL

Zoe Sorrell is a student at the Oberlin College and Conservatory of Music, pursuing a Bachelor of Music in flute performance and a Bachelor of Arts in English. She also plays the piano and the Baroque flute. In addition to studying flute and English, Ms. Sorrell has been a dancer in Ballet Oberlin, was a 2011-2012 intern for the International Contemporary Ensemble, and is a published poet and essayist. She is highly passionate about combining her interests in various performing arts. She recently commissioned and premiered a piece for flute, piano, and reader that is set to one of her original poems. She is also currently choreographing a performance in which she plays flute and dances simultaneously. Ms. Sorrell has played in master classes for such flutists as Paula Robison, Amy Porter, Marina Piccinini, Alberto Almarza, Nina Assimakopoulos, and Ransom Wilson. She has been a student of Jean-Louis Kashy, Kathleen Chastain, Michel Debost, and Alexa Still.

KatiePeaseKATIE PEASE

Hi! I’m Katie! I’m from Wellsville, a small town in upstate New York. I graduated from Ithaca College in 2009 with a B.S. in Speech-Language Pathology and a minor in Deaf Studies. Currently, I am a Preschool Teacher in Brookline, Massachusetts. At night, I’m working on getting my Masters in Early Childhood Education and Creative Arts in Learning at Lesley University. As a teacher, I have a strong passion for teaching through music and I believe that it’s important to enrich the curriculum through the arts. In my spare time, I enjoy playing the guitar or piano, attending slam poetry, riding my bike, and spending time with my friends, family, and roommates! I’m really looking forward to being a counselor at Sitka Fine Arts Camp!! Can’t wait to meet everybody soon!

LD bio pic copyLAUREN DIGIORGIO

Lauren DiGiorgio was born in the greater Cleveland area and has since been inching her way westward. In 2002 her family relocated to Naperville, Illinois, and this fall she will be in her final year at the University of Iowa. Lauren is pursuing degrees in Bassoon Performance and Music Education and is excited to become a band director.  Lauren has enjoyed performing with-in the School of Music in concert bands, orchestra, various chamber ensembles, steel band, pep band, and marching band, as well as in the local music scene of Iowa City. In her free time, she enjoys trying new recipes, doodling, and watching movies on the couch with her cat and a good cup of tea.”

 

One response to “2013 Counselors

  1. Chernobyl (Geralyn)

    Hey! I see there is a new counselor from Portland Maine!! I’m from Maine too!! And I went to SFAC!! Us nor’easters are taking over!!

Leave a Reply

